State House and Museum of Art

My dad is going to sleep for a week after we leave. This morning I talked him into going with us to the Museum of Art. We arrived at 10 only to find out the galleries didn’t open until 11 (whoops), so we walked a few blocks to the state house. We counted the steps, walked around the grounds, toured a bit inside, saw the bronze stars where Sherman’s cannon balls hit… you know, the usual. I wish I could have spent a bit more time looking at all the art, historical plaques. There was even a field guide of all the different plants growing on the grounds. Some day…

We headed back to the museum. We went straight to the Interactive Education Gallery, a room designed especially for young children. Colorful and fun, with books and bean bags and paintings hung at children’s eye level, the room is a great place to spend a half hour. We also borrowed some Art Explorer Backpacks, containing “a sketchbook with colored pencils, a pair of binoculars, a compass, and hands-on activities that relate to the theme of the backpack chosen.” Of course, my kids fought over the binoculars so we had to get four backpacks. Finally, before heading into the galleries, we picked up some family gallery guides, complete with scavenger hunts and other games for my kids to play. So far, so good.

Then we stepped into the gallery. And, in that moment, I knew it wasn’t going to work. Logan immediately heard the echo and started testing his voice, emitting little yells that bounced around the room. And Ben saw nothing but long stretches of hardwood floor to race down (before Poppy grabbed him).

We left fairly quickly and the kids played in the fountain. Someday I’ll go back and actually look at the Botticelli, Monet, and Edward Hopper. I used to be a big fan of the impressionists but now I really enjoy realism, especially artists like Hopper. Some day.

image

image

image

image

image

image

One thought on “State House and Museum of Art

  1. I hope Dad comes to visit us in Austin for the BYU game so I can make him go to every thing there is to see with my kids, and if he complains I will just remind him of this.

Leave a Reply

