Labor Day 2014

The kids have all had colds, so Labor Day 2014 started with a Ben and Mom hike. That kid left me in the dust for two miles, and we only headed back to the car because I was getting tired. He could have run for two miles more.

2014-09-01 10.41.43

In the afternoon I took Megan and Gavin for a little back to school shopping. We didn’t buy too many clothes this year, since Megan got some clothes this summer and Gavin still fits into everything. The shorts he is wearing are a size 5-6 (he is 9 1/2!) and are looking old. I finally found him some size 8 shorts at Target, that when cinched to the max, don’t fall off. And a few new shirts. Gavin said, “Mom, I’ll wear whatever you bring me home that fits, but my old clothes are fine. Really.” Low maintenance, that one.

After we got home the whole family hiked from the top to the bottom of Snoqualmie Falls. And back up again.

2014-09-01 17.31.16 2014-09-01 17.36.58 2014-09-01 17.38.58 2014-09-01 17.41.46 2014-09-01 17.41.50

PS The funniest thing happened while I was in Target with Megan and Gavin. While we were looking at shoes for Megan, Gavin wandered off. He didn’t reappear before we checked out, so I walked over to Guest Services to ask if they would page him to come to the front. They said, “He’s NINE? That’s under twelve. That’s a code yellow.” They essentially put the store in lockdown. In seconds security guards stood in front of the exits and red-shirted Target employees stood at the end of aisles. After about 10 seconds they said, “We found him on the LEGO aisle.” (duh! I should have looked there) About five team members surrounded him until Megan and I walked back to get him. And that’s the Target security procedure for a child up to age ELEVEN.

One thought on “Labor Day 2014

  1. Hahahaha. Your Target story! I’m surprised they didn’t arrest you. I remember Mom losing me in Target once and having to get paged to the front. I don’t remember how old I was but probably about the same as Gavin. Oh how times have changed. Benny needs to teach Atticus how to hike, that kid is so lazy. Too many years of being tiny enough to carry in the baby backpack.

Leave a Reply

