2014 Wrap-Up

IMG_1597

Name: Logan
Age: 3
Favorite book: Magic School Bus
Favorite song: Frozen soundtrack
My teachers: Sister Rigby
My good friends: Asher, Jake, Joey, Oli, Kennedy, Brookie, Bib (Ben), Isaac
How I like to spend my time: reading books, escaping outside, “helping” in the kitchen, throwing temper tantrums
Favorite color: Whatever color you didn’t give me
Favorite food: Oatmeal
What I learned this year: How to operate any electronic device as well as most adults
Hardest thing of the year: Two visits to the ER
Some of my goals: Potty training (please!!)

IMG_1582

Name: Ben
Age: 5 1/2
Favorite book: Minecraft
Favorite song: It’s Raining Tacos
Favorite color: Red
Favorite food: Cheeseburgers
Grade in school: Kindergarten
My teachers: Ms. de Haan, Brother Rogers
My good friends: Brayden, Max
How I like to spend my time: Electronics
What I learned: How to help your elders, the poor, and people who are sick
Hardest thing of the year: Climbing Shay’s rock wall
Favorite memory: Going to Grammy and Poppy’s
I want to learn: How to shoot a slingshot
I want to get better at: Swimming
Some of my goals: Running, swimming, jumping

IMG_1371

Name: Gavin
Age: 9
Favorite book: Ranger’s aprentice: book #12
Favorite song: Strawberry avalanche
Favorite color: Dark green
Favorite food: Bacon chocolate
Grade in school: 4th/Discovery
My teachers: School – Mrs. Lehr and Mrs. Holmes Church – Brother Gould and Brother Rasmussen
My good friends: Mattew, Bryant and Dalton, Tyler, Ryker, Warren, Jason
How I like to spend my time: playing with freinds
What I learned: some people are better freinds than others
Hardest thing of the year: Brothers
Favorite memory: Going to Fripp island
I want to learn: how to do long division
I want to get better at: multiplication and division
Some of my goals: to have a better personality and learn to control myself

IMG_1378

Name: Megan
Age: 12
Favorite book: Ranger’s apprentice
Favorite color: Blue
Favorite food: Hazelnut chocolate
Grade in school: 7
My teachers: Mom, Johansen/Hanken, Mixsell, Elder, Daar, Miske, Bluhm
My good friends: Andrea, Bryant
How I like to spend my time: Playing with the boys
What I learned: Algebra. The Pythagorean Theorem. Light. Natural disasters.
Hardest thing of the year: BOYS
Favorite memory: Hot Stove Society w/ Mom
What I loved most about 2013: spending lots of quality time with family, friends, and books 🙂
I want to learn: nutrition
I want to get better at: violin
Some of my goals: -how to pack lunches faster
-portion size
-hair dressing
-layering
-organization

IMG_1627

Name: Lauren
Age: 32
Favorite book: Little Women, A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, Cutting for Stone
Favorite color: Blue
Favorite food: Anything of excellent quality (whole, local, organic, and/or thoughtfully prepared)
Grade in school: pre-grad school
My teachers: Sheryl Newton and Suzy Lunsford (visiting teachers)
My good friends: Laura, Shay, Bethany, Jenn, Leone, Holly, Jess, Jeannie, Crystal, Anne, Angie, Beth…
How I like to spend my time: making music, reading, being outside, playing games
What I learned: Lots of helpful things about myself and my relationships with others
Hardest thing of the year: Working on my relationships with others (including marriage and parenting)
Favorite memory: Fripp Island
What I loved most about 2014: Being real with people and helping them through their hard times as they helped me through mine
I want to learn: Daily
I want to get better at: Self-care
Some of my goals: – Be a good Scout Den Leader
– Take good care of myself physically (exercise, eat right, sleep)
– Continue to prepare for grad school
– Be gentle with myself and those around me, especially Christopher and the kids
– Blog more!

IMG_1496

Name: DAD
Age: 36
Favorite book: Atlas Shrugged
Favorite song: First We Take Manhattan
Favorite color: Electric Blue
Favorite food: Good Mexican
Grade in school: USDA Prime
My teachers: Hard knocks
My good friends: Jansen, Eric Lavin, Jason Olson
How I like to spend my time: Krav Maga, Reading
What I learned: How to overcome weaknesses
Hardest thing of the year: Charlie’s funeral
Favorite memory: Front Sight w/ kids
I want to learn: Financial planning/investing
I want to get better at: Boxing
Some of my goals: 1. 100% home teaching
2. Jump the wake and stick the landing
3. Master hunter certification
4. DG tactical rifle class

IMG_1346
IMG_1363
IMG_1505

3 thoughts on “2014 Wrap-Up

  1. Fantastic pictures! Did you take these? I loved reading about your family. I’m completely convinced our kids would get along amazingly. Although I think between Sam and Logan we might have our hands totally full.

Leave a Reply

