First week of 2015

My New Year’s Resolution is to blog more often, to capture the minutiae of our lives. The stuff that’s pretty boring now, but will be super interesting years from now, right?

1. Gavin and Ben are on track to win the “most visits to school nurse award”. Gavin went frequently in his early elementary career for stomach and head aches, and now his visits are getting more interesting . Today’s note (1/8) states: “tooth pain from loose tooth. He pulled it out + washed hands. tooth box given” The tooth he brought home had a cavity in it, so good thing it’s out.

Ben practically lives in the nurse’s office and his teacher is trying to “wean him off nurse visits”. The note from 1/6 says: “upset tummy. Thinks it’s because he ate something that didn’t agree w/ him. Very talkative + I sent him back.” Of course, not all his visits are so benign. Today I got a call at 9:12 a.m., three minutes before school starts, from the nurse. Ben had managed to fall from the bus to the front door of the school and scrape his wrist, elbow, and forehead just above the eyebrow. I don’t know how he manages, but he does.

2. My kids fight. A lot. I’m working really hard to lessen the contention at home, and there were a few moments this week that gave me hope. First, Megan came home crying. She had also injured herself multiple times at school (it’s genetic). After talking with her, I told her to lay down on my bed. When I went to check on her, Logan had found his toy doctor kit and was taking care of her.

2015-01-07 16.23.58

2015-01-07 16.23.01

2015-01-07 16.22.53

And a few minutes ago, I caught Gavin covering up his sleeping brothers before he went to bed. He said he always does that, and if they are still awake, he snuggles them a minute before he climbs into his top bunk.

3. Speaking of sleeping, Logan has not been doing a good job of that lately. He’s transitioning out of naps and we all know how awful transitions of any kind are for a three-year-old.

He climbs in my bed at 10 p.m. When I tell him his body is tired, he says, “No, mommy, my body is up!”

2015-01-05 21.54.14

Naps are a luxury now. Of course, at dinner time he can hardly function. He asked to spin the salad and couldn’t even stay vertical to do it.

2015-01-06 17.58.22

4. Despite the lack of sleep, he is still in the cutest stage. Three really is the best and worst age. I love how Logan inverts his words. He wants to “ring the belldoor” or “play PBS Kids on the pucuter”.

5. I finally implemented a poker chip reward system for Ben’s good behavior. So far, so good. The big kids wanted in, too. One of Gavin’s rewards included Minecraft because he has wanted it for SO long and was quite disappointed he didn’t get it for Christmas. That was my fault. When he bugged me about it in December, I said something like, “Quit bugging me. Christmas is coming up.” My bad. Anyway, I figured it would take him at least a week of extra chores and good behavior to earn it, but he and Megan managed to pool their resources and I paid the $26.95 to download it tonight. Of course, they’ll have to earn more points just to PLAY it, but Gavin was so ecstatic just to know that little icon is on his desktop, he said, “Overjoyed Gavo says peace out!” on the way to bed.

2 thoughts on “First week of 2015

  1. Oh my gosh, the part about Gavo snuggling his brothers made me tear up at work.

    Also, my kids (almost) never fight, so maybe I should quit while I’m ahead? I’ve got to stop thinking baby thoughts so much. But all my friends are having/pregnant with their third babies and it’s imploding all over my Instagram feeds.

Leave a Reply

