Last Day of Summer

And… the summer is over. I can’t wait until the kids are in school so I can blog all about it. We have spent the last week or two getting ready for the year, buying and organizing supplies, backpacks, lunch boxes, and clothes. I think all four kids are excited and anxious.

Megan is starting 8th grade and was thrilled when she saw her schedule today and has three teachers she had last year–all whom she loves. She is taking two classes for high school credit, 1st year Spanish and 10th grade Geometry. I guess it’s real now, because those grades will be on the transcript. I’m surprisingly not worried about it. Megan will be playing violin in orchestra again, trying out for the volleyball team, and participating in WEB–Where Everybody Belongs. She went to several WEB training meetings last week and participated in the orientation for the sixth graders. She continues to be helpful, kind, intelligent, and hard-working. She continued to save money for her orchestra Disney trip by babysitting, pet sitting, and house sitting. She’s only about halfway to her $1000 goal, so she’s thinking about becoming a tutor and/or child’s birthday party entertainer this Fall. If she could legally get a job, I know she would.

Gavin can’t believe he’s starting 5th grade, and at dinner said, “I’ve been waiting my whole life for this! Ten years!” I was frazzled during “meet the teacher” today because I thought we were running late and when I got to the class his teacher said, “Actually, you’re 30 minutes early.” Because I can’t read. I told her, “I have too many kids” and she laughed and I think it’s going to be a good year. Gavin is sweet, helpful, kind, and a natural puzzle solver. He spent most of his summer playing Legos and Minecraft, chess and Rook.

20150831-IMG_1173

Every time I mentioned school to Ben, he nonchalantly replied, “Oh, I’m not going to school.” But when today came, he did go meet his teacher, and was polite, charming, and as sweet as could be. He said hello to every kid and adult he passed, and it seemed like everyone at that school, for better or worse, knows who Ben is! Ben is most excited, of course, for recess, where he will play soccer, and PE.

Logan is going to be sad tomorrow when he realizes he doesn’t start school until September 9. But his day will come.

One thought on “Last Day of Summer

Leave a Reply

